February 20, 2016

This week was a roller coaster of emotions, and I mean that in a completely non-cliche type of way.

As I expressed in my last blog post, I was pretty stressed out.  I felt overwhelmed and had a lot on my plate, which didn’t help my mood.  On Thursday, I got an email saying that I basically needed to take 5 classes to graduate.  As a last semester senior, this email gave me quite the heart attack.  I spent the rest of the day scrambling, trying to get things straightened out while at the same time keeping the rest of my responsibilities in check.  Finally, at the end of the day, I got another email explaining that there were a few mistakes and that everything was straightened out.  I was cleared for graduation.

Thank God!

That moment put everything into perspective and I finally realized that very soon, my college experience would be over.  I don’t have immediate plans to go to grad school, so at the moment this is it.  College is coming to an end.  I thought back to all of the times I struggled with required classes.  I transferred twice (crazy, I know) so I almost got used to the constant battle of trying to get my existing classes to count towards graduation.  As of now, I don’t have to do that anymore.  Such a relief, all transfer students can relate!!

As a little celebration, I chose to spend the weekend at home being lazy and relaxing.  I didn’t let myself get caught up in the stress of everything because pretty soon this college experience will be over.

I’ve heard a lot of crazy, stressful transfer student stories, and I honestly think that transfers have it harder than traditional undergrads. Who else thinks so?

If you have a personal story from your experience as a transfer student, let me know in the comments!

Author: Allie

I'm Allie. I live in the wonderfully beautiful central valley in California. I am currently finishing up my bachelors degree at Fresno Pacific University majoring in communications and trying to figure out how to appropriately tackle the challenge of adulthood. FPU is the third college I have attended, I like to do things the hard way I guess! I earned an AA degree from College of the Sequoias in 2014, and then transferred to Holy Names University and spent an amazingly crazy year there in Oakland, California and now I am back in the valley! I love blogging, reading romance novels, watching The Bachelor and obsessing over my favorite Starbucks drinks. Cheesecake is my favorite guilty pleasure and I am happiest when I am curled up on the couch gossiping with my wonderful boyfriend, or playing tennis any day of the week. I spent 3 years competing as a college tennis player, which means I am addicted to the smell of tennis balls, can handle excessive amounts of traumatizing conditioning, and I have friends from all over the globe. Life can get pretty crazy if you sit back and see where it takes you. This blog is my little space that allows me to chronicle my wacky journey and all of the little side roads along the way. If you're reading this, bless your heart. Hey there! Want to get in touch? Make a deal? Contact me at allison.rosa13@gmail.com. For the sake of lets-be-realness, business inquiries or blog collaborations only. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

