March 17, 2016

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

I know I’m a day late with this post, but I have a good reason!  Yesterday was pretty wild, and I’m still trying to process it even now. Allow me to explain:

A few days ago I sent an email to a friend who I used to work with in the district office of my local congressman.  I knew they were moving people around in their office positions so I thought I would let them know that I’m graduating soon in case a position opens up.  The next day my friend said he would forward my email to the chief-of-staff Cole to figure something out.  I had wanted to apply for their Washington, D.C. summer internship anyway so I sent that along as well, thinking that is what they would offer.

The day after that, I got a request for a phone call from Cole.  Little did I know, it was actually an interview!!

I already knew Cole from working in the district office, so the conversation went well.  He said the internship position was mine for the taking!  But then he presented an even better offer: a full time position.  As it turns out, the congressman needs a new Schedule Coordinator and the staff is looking for someone to fill in the open position.  Cole said that he thought I would be a great applicant for the job, and he proceeded with the interview.

After all of the questions and job description, we scheduled a second interview for next week.  In a few days I will have to go to the district office for a video conference call with Cole and the congressman.

When I finally hung up the phone, my mind was racing.  No matter how the interview next week goes, I’ll have an opportunity to work in Washington D.C. in May.  Moving across the country is huge, and working a job with so many opportunities is even bigger!!  This is exactly the type of thing I’ve been waiting for, something that can open up doors and kick-start a future.

If I get the job, I’ll be in charge of scheduling and keeping track of all of the congressman’s meetings, appointments, and engagements.  I will also be the direct contact regarding his schedule.  It will be a demanding job, and working on Capitol Hill will be quite the experience, but this is something that I just can’t pass up.

So this week most of my thoughts will be centered around my upcoming interview, which hopefully goes well.  Thoughts of the east coast, politics, and being an “adult” are filling my head.  A part of me thinks this is too good to be true and that I shouldn’t get my hopes up.  After all, I’ll be fresh out of college with virtually no experience in schedule coordinating.  Cole said that if everything works out, I’ll start training via the internet in April and will move to D.C. as soon as possible in May.

Moving to a completely different area will be tough again.  I have a few friends on the east coast who have assured me that it’s great, so I’m feeling pretty optimistic at this point.  But once May rolls along, I’ll probably start to freak out.  I only have half a semester left, and May is just around the corner.  If I end up getting the full time position, there’s no telling when I’ll move back to California.  This will put a strain on my relationship, I’ll be far from my entire family, and the work will be overwhelming.

Despite the intimidation that this job brings, I really do believe that this is the best thing for me right now.  The sales job with the newspaper was fine, but I honestly don’t see myself in sales and there’s no telling when I would actually get the opportunity to write.  This position in D.C. however, gives the opportunity to be exposed to a large number of other jobs as well as making last contacts.

I’m hoping and praying that next week goes well, and even if I don’t get the job I’ll still have the chance to travel and add another great experience to my resume.

Author: Allie

I'm Allie. I live in the wonderfully beautiful central valley in California. I am currently finishing up my bachelors degree at Fresno Pacific University majoring in communications and trying to figure out how to appropriately tackle the challenge of adulthood. FPU is the third college I have attended, I like to do things the hard way I guess! I earned an AA degree from College of the Sequoias in 2014, and then transferred to Holy Names University and spent an amazingly crazy year there in Oakland, California and now I am back in the valley! I love blogging, reading romance novels, watching The Bachelor and obsessing over my favorite Starbucks drinks. Cheesecake is my favorite guilty pleasure and I am happiest when I am curled up on the couch gossiping with my wonderful boyfriend, or playing tennis any day of the week. I spent 3 years competing as a college tennis player, which means I am addicted to the smell of tennis balls, can handle excessive amounts of traumatizing conditioning, and I have friends from all over the globe. Life can get pretty crazy if you sit back and see where it takes you. This blog is my little space that allows me to chronicle my wacky journey and all of the little side roads along the way. If you're reading this, bless your heart. Hey there! Want to get in touch? Make a deal? Contact me at allison.rosa13@gmail.com. For the sake of lets-be-realness, business inquiries or blog collaborations only. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

